Peoria County Farm Bureau Foundation Scholarships

The Peoria County Farm Bureau Foundation sponsors five $1000 one-year scholarships to students planning to study agriculture and related fields. The scholarships are awarded to students residing in Peoria County that have been accepted or are currently enrolled in a four year university or two year junior college. Students judged on participation in agricultural events, 4-H, and interest in agriculture. A student can receive a scholarship from the Peoria County Farm Bureau Foundation only one time.   

The winners of the 2018 scholarships were:

Kylie Ann Cagwin, Edwards,  IL

Will J. Feucht, Princeville, IL

Kelly Louise Gill, Princeville, IL

Breeanna R. Keyt, Brimfield, IL  

Allison Marie Sniff, Chillicothe, IL  



Congratulations to all our 2018 winners!

IAA Foundation Scholarship Program

IAA Foundation General Scholarship: For the study of agriculture, agribusiness, or an ag-related major at any recognized university, college, or community college in or outside of Illinois. Five $1000 scholarships and one $1,100 scholarship will be awarded. One of the six may be awarded to a qualified student studying foreign trade.
William J Kuhfuss Memorial Scholarship: Mr. Kuhfuss’ family and friends established this scholarship fund to honor him for his many years of leadership in agriculture. One $1,200 award will be given to a student with an agricultural background or working toward an occupation in or related to agriculture at a post-secondary school in the state of Illinois.
Dale E Butz Scholarship: The recipient of this scholarship will be a post-secondary student with a background in production agriculture who is majoring in agriculture, agribusiness, or agriculture related field. The scholarship will be awarded on the basis of scholastic ability and financial need. One $1,000 scholarship will be awarded.
Heartland NAMA Steven A Hammerschmidt Memorial Scholarship: Must be a US citizen. For junior or senior level college student majoring in agriculture or agri-business at an Illinois college or university, who is interested in a career in agricultural marketing, agricultural sales or agriultural communications. One $1,000 scholarship will be awarded.

University of Illinois Agriculture Scholarships

Bennie L Johnson Scholarship: One $1000 scholarship awarded to a College of ACES student from Peoria or Knox Counties, with a preference given to a student active in the 4-H program. Funding in memory of Bennie Johnson, a lifelong farmer in Peoria and Knox County, who was an active 4-H Club leader and University of Illinois Extension member.
Gordon E. and Doris L. Thompson Scholarship: One or more scholarships of varying amounts to College of ACES students from Knox or Peoria Counties, with preference given to graduates of Knoxville or Elmwood High Schools. Funds provided by Gordon Thompson, a 1941 graduate of the College of Agriculture, and his wife, Lee, a graduate of Millikin University.

1st Farm Credit Scholarships

At The Heart of a Growing America Scholarship: 1st Farm Credit Services scholarships are designed to assist deserving high school seniors to further their education in an agriculture or agriculture-related field of study, and to help promote agriculture as a growing field of career opportunities. A total of 23, $1000 scholarships are awarded to students who live in the 42-county service territory of the association, which includes Peoria County. The deadline is typically in February of each year. For more information, go to or call 800-444-FARM.

Illinois Central College

1st Farm Credit Services is pleased to offer our Community College Agricultural Scholarship program at Illinois Central College in East Peoria to assist deserving students to further their education in an agriculture or agriculture-related field of study, and to help promote agriculture as a growing field of career opportunities. A single, $500 agricultural scholarship is offered each year. A student must be accepted into an agriculture or agriculture-related curriculum at Illinois Central College. Selection is made by the community college. For more information, contact Illinois Central College Educational Foundation at 309-694-8420.

Illinois State University

1st Farm Credit Services is pleased to offer the John Leatherbury Scholarship at Illinois State University. The $3,000 scholarship is given to a student with an agriculture major, with consideration of academic performance. The university selects the recipient. For more information contact the Illinois State University Agriculture Department.

State of Illinois Agriculture Scholarships

The office of the Illinois State Treasurer offers ten $2,500 Scholarships through the Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship Program to Illinois High School Seniors. The scholarships are funded through the Bright Start College Savings Program, which is a tax-exempt 529 college savings plan administered by the Treasurer’s Office.
Eligible students must: have a minimum 2.75 grade point average, have already been accepted to an accredited higher education institution in Illinois by May 15, and plan to pursue an agriculture-related major.
Students must also submit a completed application, which is available at schools, farm bureaus or the offices of local state legislators. You can also find an application on the Treasurer’s website  or call 217-557-6436.

National FFA Collegiate Scholarship Program

Each year the National FFA Organization awards more than $2 million in scholarships to members. Scholarships are given for a wide variety of experiences, career goals, and higher education plans. Grades are important, but the FFA combination takes into account the whole you. Your community service. Your FFA involvement. Your leadership skills. Your SAE. Talk with your FFA advisor and apply now. Go to the National FFA organization website for more information and an application. Application deadline is February 15.

Balloon Association of Greater Illinois

The Balloon Association of Greater Illinois (BAGI) has established $500 scholarships as part of the Landowner Relations Program within the club. Members wanted to thank the farming community for allowing balloons to launch from or land on their property and to encourage and support young people who have chosen agriculture as their vocation. The program has been a good partnership between the farming community and balloonists. Past recipients’ areas of interest include veterinary medicine, agronomy, agribusiness, and agricultural engineering. To access the eligibility requirements or application go to or call the Vermillion County Farm Bureau at (217) 442-8713 or Larry Owens at (217) 304-0827.